Verified Reviews for Qute Hamster & Gerbil Cage

Average Rating:
Based on 347 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Not quite 5 stars -

Lovely piece of furniture,I wish we could shorten tube about inch as I like a lot of bedding in bottom and bit bigger. As one of previous reviews can't put too many toys in. Husband found it easy to put together

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Syrian hamster pets


Looks great, could be a bit bigger. -

I was worried this might be a bit too small but there is plenty of room over two levels for a dwarf hamster. Would be even better if it was a bit bigger. Very happy daughter waiting for her hamster to arrive now.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Dwarf pets

Omlet Says: Hi Keely, thanks so much for your review. I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our team! We hope your daughter and her hamsters both enjoy!!


Fantastic cage -

I purchased this cage 2 years ago for our hamster, sadly he died recently after a happy life in this wonderful little home. I wanted to write a review to say how fantastic this cage was for us. It is ridiculously easy to clean, so it didn’t ever feel like a drag. We also have 2 very attentive cats who would visit our hamster daily, I didn’t feel he was unsafe with keen cats around. The cage is a great piece of furniture so our fluffy friend lived in the main living space which in turn made him very sociable as I would often talk to him whilst tidying up. I did a lot of research before buying this cage and 2 years later I have no regrets. Thank you Omlet for your great design.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2019 This reviewer has 1 pets


Gave my hamster a good life -

I got this for my hamster almost two years ago now, it was simple to build and the added extras where a good size. My little peko loved her cage she would always be on the wheel and burrowing in the box below. The plastic box is very deep and that is perfect for a hamster. My hamster died a couple of days ago sleeping soundly in her favourite spot in her bedding. Thanks guys

This reviewer has 1 Syrian hamster pets


Good concept, but this habitat is too small -

We just set this up last night for 2 gerbils. I doubt we will use it. If we do, we will definitely connect it to our 20 gallon tank and add a tank topper. The 20 gallon tank which was too small itself. This habit is too small for gerbils and hamsters. It is suitable for 2-3 mice. I also have issues with the following: 1. The 6.5 inch wheel is way too small of hamsters or gerbils. The habitat isn't deep enough to allow for a larger wheel. 2. The wire flooring at the edges of the top floor makes a potential hazard for foot injuries 3. The water bottle is too small 4. The bottom could be deeper and wider.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Gerbils (2) pets

Omlet Says: Hi Denise, thank you for taking the time to leave us product review. There are no definitive standards for animal housing so it's up to designers to try to produce a home that will best serve the needs of the pet and the owner so that they both enjoy the experience of pet ownership. Omlet invests a huge amount in product development work to ensure that our products always do delight both owners and pets. Since we launched the Qute many thousands of hamsters and gerbils have moved into Qutes and enjoy the deep burrowing tray, the upper level with its wheel and feeding area and the view out into the rest of the house through the crystal clear front. In addition Omlet recognises that a large part of animal welfare is providing a safe, hygienic home and plenty of enrichment and activity for the pets. This is why we have a professionally researched and written guide on the Omlet website to help owners understand and provide for their pets. I can assure you the Qute is big enough for 1 hamster or 2 gerbils. The cage was thoroughly tested for many years before its release. It was designed with pet experts and pet owners alike and the cage does meet legal requirement. In the office we have had 3 generations of gerbils and 2 generations of hamsters living in the Qute, all have been happy and healthy. Hamsters and gerbils, like other pets, do need time outside of their home, they need stimulation. This is why we recommend exercise balls or mazes. Half an hour every couple of days will keep them happy, healthy and well stimulated.


Best cage in the world!! -

I bought this cage for my 2 new gerbils and they LOVE it!! There is so much space! The only thing that was kinda eh... was that it didn't come with a hut house. Other than that, this cage is completely flawless! Totally worth my money! Thank you, Omlet!!

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Gerbils pets

Omlet Says: Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. That's great to hear! In regards to the hut house, I will pass your comments onto our design team for future reference.


wonderful, waiting patiently for some residents... -

i got this a few weeks ago after a bit of researching and i was delighted when it arrived. it was relatively tricky to assemble but the instructions book made it so much easier (once i found it at the bottom of the box). went to pets at home to deck it out and it now looks absolutely fabulous! the storage compartment is so useful and gives the cage an extra level of height with practicality! all round i think this is great and i highly reccomend.

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 pets


A good heavy bit of kit - West Yorkshire,

We took a couple of wrong turns whilst building this— It took a while in other words, and we had to look at the instructions VERY carefully. All fine and good quality once done! The cage seems to take account of hamsters' instincts quite well— their need to burrow, and to climb up. So that's a really good thing. I do feel they could have gone *a bit* larger, so that people can adapt the inside and add bigger toys and tunnels etc. to prevent the creature getting too bored. We ring the changes for it nevertheless, and got some small-pet/hamster sand and put it in an egg-box up top. it likes rolling in this to clean its fur, and we continually buy other bits and pieces for it (e.g.varieties of dried grass, herbs, paper bits bedding etc, so that it can tunnel and create beds etc.. In the wild they make different rooms underground, apparently ... (This is why it could do with a little more space, I feel.) Otherwise, this is an almost perfect cage, and components such as the wheel, are silent and much used. (hamsters can cover around 5 miles a night in the wild) It's easy enough to clean, as is shown on the website.

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 1 Campbells' (syrian d pets


Cate - County,

The most beautiful cage, modern practical and looks lovely! Hammy is very happy! Thank you very much!

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Syrian hamster pets


Love it! -

I got this for my 4 year old daughters birthday. She kept saying she wanted a hamster but as she is so young (and we have a cat) I wanted to ensure it was a safe cage, easy cleaning and easy for my daughter to play with her hamster without being able to escape. This fits all of the above perfectly. So so happy with the purchase and so is "hot dog" (the name my daughter gave her hamster) ha ????

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 1 Syrian hamster pets

1 of 35   Next