It’s a lovely looking cage, but I feel really guilty for my two gerbils stuck in her. Which means, we have to ensure we give them 20-30 minutes each day in their ‘Playpen’ to ensure they get plenty of room to stretch and run around properly.
This reviewer has 2-4 Gerbils pets
Omlet Says: Hi Lacy, thank you for your review.
Please don't worry, I can assure you the cage is big enough for up to 1 hamster or 2 gerbils.
Hamsters and gerbils, like other pets, do need time outside of their home. This is why we recommend exercise balls or mazes, half an hour every day or so will keep them happy, healthy and well stimulated so it sounds like you're already doing everything right.
My hamster couldn’t find a way up or down the tube. I had to remove tube and the floor and creat my own way for hamster to go up and down ! The cage is tiny, compare to ad video. The only thing I like about cage is that there is no mess around it.
This reviewer has 1 Teddy bear pets
Omlet Says: Thanks for your review Ronnie.
Sometimes people have issues with their hamsters/gerbils not using the tube straight away but they always get the hang of it in the end. There are a few things that can help to encourage them such as treats, or taking the tube out and playing with your pet in the tube to allow them to get used to it.
We can also recommend that the customer tilt the Qute slightly (secure the bottom with books or something heavy so that the cage does not slip) and this will help the pet get used to the tube whilst it is not so vertical.
I would definitely recommend this product with storage. The only downfall is the water bottle leaks.
I was very happy to find a cage for my kid's gerbils that checked all of the boxes. I wanted it to be safe and functional for the pets, I wanted my kids to be able to help take care of the cage, and i wanted it to look more like a piece of furniture than a standard aquarium. about 2 weeks in and I am certain that two of these criteria have been met while the 3rd was sorely missed.
The bottom plastic habitat should not be made of 5 separate pieces of plastic. In 3 days time the gerbils manage to get paper and wood shavings into every single crack and crevice, so much so that it falls onto the floor every time you go to take it out of the cabinet. That means that cleaning the thing requires the entire plastic bin be completely taken apart to clean. After reading the reviews and considering my options I am disappointed in what I received given what I paid.
Omlet Says: Dear Scott,
Thank you for your review, we value all feedback as this helps us improve our products for the future.
I am sorry to hear that you seem to have had issues with your cage, we will pass on your feedback to our product design and quality control teams.
In the meantime, please feel free to contact our customer services team who will be happy to help you further.
Overall it was a a nice product, however the front cage had a piece that was not strongly welded and the latch is weak. These two things do not make it unusable but do need to get fixed.
Omlet Says: We are sorry to hear that you encountered some weak spots. Where ever you may find problems with an Omlet products, like this issue, you are always welcome to inform us, and if necessary we will send you replacement!
Being a first time hamster keeper, I was so excited to get this cage and my hamster. The cage is really pretty and really well made. After i purchased my dwarf hamster and put him in the cage however, I realized that the tube was way too big for my dwarf hamster. I messaged customer services and they said he would eventually learn how to use it but it took him a really long time. I was so worried at one point that i started making a cardboard ramp to replace the tube. When he eventually did learn, he can go up the tube fine, but every time he tries to go down, he falls down with a thud. It worries me that eventually he will get hurt that way. He definitely won't be able to use it when he gets old. I really wish there's a smaller tube that can fit inside the large tube to make it easier for my dwarf. It would be nice if they had a warning that the tube is not suitable for dwarf hamsters, or offer a smaller tube option.
Omlet Says: Hello Melody,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your hamster has struggled with the tube so much. We do mention on our website that our Qute cage may not be suitable for a dwarf hamster, if you wish to keep the cage, I would suggest swapping the tube for a ladder?
Please be aware that you do have 30 days to return the cage if you wish, and we would issue you a refund.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us on firstname.lastname@example.org and our customer services team will be happy to help.
It's a lovely idea for a hamster 'home' and looks great, but considering the hefty price tag, it may be worth considering cheaper alternatives. One of the clear plastic drawers arrived with a large crack in it and the main catch to the wire cage snapped off within weeks of use. It was also quite time consuming / frustrating to put together -- All in all, very much like the Ikea furniture it strives to be: Very pretty when you eventually finish putting it together, but appearances are deceptive...
Omlet Says: Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your purchase .
We are very sorry to hear that you were not entirely pleased with your order.
I have sent you an email in order to organise some replacements for the damaged parts.
The Omlet Team.
Nice looking cage and fairly practical. The plastic tub at the bottom needs very thorough cleaning as urine can leak into the joins and sometimes through the tub altogether.
I received my package and was excited to be giving this hamster home to my daughter for her big Christmas gift. Only to find out that the package contained two left sides, not a left and right side as needed. After attempting to contact Omlet I was finally able to get in touch with customer service- after a few phone calls and visit to the the website. Once Clare was able to process my order I was told the replacement pieces are shipped from the UK and would not reach the US in time for Christmas. A week after Christmas the package arrived. The one right side that I needed was packaged in an original package box with minor paper fill and a little bubble wrap. Needless to say it’s trip across the big pond was traumatic at best. My amazing husband was able to assemble the hamster home with the damaged parts minimally showing (yes white duck tape is covering the only visible wounded corner). All of that being said- Clare was more than kind in our transactions and the Hamster thinks her new home is Heaven! Easy for an 8 year old to maintain care :)
Omlet Says: Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your hamster is happy in her new home. We are incredibly sorry that you were dissatisfied with this experience. Please note we believe the delays were due to the busy Christmas period and we are going to look into how we can handle this quicker in the future. Our customer service team will contact you regarding the damaged part to unsure your Qute is in 100% perfect condition. Yours, the Omlet team
I saw this hamster habitat and thought it was great it looked good and appeared to be a great home for a hamster which my daughter was getting for Christmas I don’t ride and was set up easily it is solid and well-made I just it was wider I feel the hamster could use more room to play on the second floor and as I read more about hamsters I keep seeing suggestions for no less than 24 x 12 and I understand why now that I have one I can’t fit many toys in there without taking up all of his free space. He is always looking for something to climb he climbs the bars the water bottles and I feel I need to get a new habitat so I will have more room for him and be able to give him more toys for activity I really hope they end up making a larger size of this model it was almost perfect.