Reviews for Eglu Go Guinea pig Hutch

5 Stars:
4 Stars:
3 Stars:
2 Stars:
1 Star:
Average Rating:
Based on 59 Reviews
Write Review

Showing reviews 1 to 10 of 59

Happy guinea pigs happy owners. - Rachel,

Our guinea pigs really appreciate their new home especially in this horrible weather . It allows them freedom to choose and keeps them warm and dry. It's easy to clean . Couldn't be happier .

- Fiona,

I purchased the Guinea Pig hutch with the 2m run for my two piggies in early December 2017. I will be honest and say that in the early days I almost wished I hadn't bought it as it is quite expensive and took so so long to put together and it's impossible to move it on my own (I get at least two people to help me due to the structure of the cage/wire, I feel like it's going to fall apart if not supported on all sides when moved). The actual hutch part is awesome, super easy to clean and with the recent hot weather we've had it stays surprisingly cooler inside although I do take my GP's indoors if the outside temp reaches excess of 37/38 (celsius). The wire run itself I'm still not convinced is the best design, size wise it's great but I feel like there are too many sections to it, so the more joins it has, the more weak points it has also. I also bought the full length heavy duty cover and I must say it is definitely worth it. We had some stormy weather and I was able to overlap the cover from where the run joins the hutch and it prevented any rain getting in the hutch, I definitely felt they were well protected with this cover. Overall I am now glad I bought it.

Fantastic product - Helen,

We are so pleased with our Eglu Go and bought it to house our guinea pigs. It's a lovely looking product as well as being easy to keep clean and exactly right for our piggies. We are glad we opted for the 2m run as its great to see them leaping about.

Looks good - Sue,

The eglu looks great in my garden but there are a few issues with it. The underneath structure of the tray makes excellent housing for slugs which then make their way into the pod and munch their way through the guinea pig food leaving their slimy trail behind. The rear door is difficult to open if there is any hay in the door frame. The hay rack is now attached with tape so that the water bottle remains accessible. With regard to retrieving objects from the run I have found that a litter picker is very useful and stops the need to find someone small enough to crawl into the run. Some form of light access to the pod would be useful - for pets and owners alike.

Eglu Go Guinea Pig Hutch with 1m run - Stephanie,

I would like to say first of all despite some teething problems the Omlet team were very helpful and polite. After receiving the run one of my two piggies hurt her foot on the underwire, so I ordered the large 2 x 2 x 1 run which was really ment for chickens. This is amazing and the piggies popcorned around the large space obviously delighted. The 1m run, I feel is too small for 2 but compared to some pet shop hutches its a palace! The hutch itself is very easy to clean and people friendly. The idea is to keep the door of the hutch open at all times extending the area but as it has a large connecting door and the hutch can become chilly especially at night we lock ours in then. It would be great if, especially for piggies, the door could be made a lot smaller. It is unwise to open the back door if the piggies are inside the hutch as they can quickly escape. For my Christmas and birthday presents for a few years to come I will ask for the upward extension to the run as although easy to get into, I'm getting older and it would be nice not to have to kneel down to get through the door! All in all one of the better systems I have seen although it did break the bank!

Good dry and plenty of space - John,

Easy to assemble, spacious, a doddle to change the bedding. Had to put a small ramp on outside step to help our two geriatric pigs get in and out, but have not had any complaints so far. Weep Weep

Great product - James,

Staightforward to construct although one small part was faulty and another missing the company replaced these immediately. Very pleased with the final product, guinea pigs seem contented with plenty of space to dart around, easy access for their young owners (5 and 3 years old), easy to clean and move around the garden daily.

Brilliant cage hard to put together. - Sarah,

I absolutely love this New Guinea pig cage.But assembling the run was quite difficult.And my guinea pigs clearly love it.

It's definitely less work but it ruins the lawn and there are no windows! - Siobhan,

I like the design and the ability to open and close the door but the guinea pigs are ruining the lawn - we have a chequerboard effect where I have been moving it about. It is also difficult to move about and was much more arduous than I expected to put together. I probably had high expectations given the high price and other reviews. It's good, but not great.

Omlet Says: Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you have had problems with assembling your hutch. Should you have any further issues, please do let our Customer Service Team know and we will help as much as we can. Guinea Pigs will always nibble on the grass when you let them out on the lawn, this is healthy and normal behaviour as they need to constantly eat to keep their bowels moving. You could try offering them more hay and more fresh food if you want to try and keep the lawn eating to a minimum. However they simply love fresh grass and they are surely grateful that you give them the opportunity to do so every day.

Brilliant - Charlotte,

I got a return one which was a little cheaper. I LOVE it. The pigs LOVE it. To those who think there's not enough room, there is! I keep the door open 24/7 and often they pop in and out. It's so easy to lift (just like the video) and move to a fresh part of the garden. It did take me 3 hours to put it together but that's because I'm useless!! I love the purple too! The plastic is the best as I just hose it down. A 5-10 min. job at most.

1 of 6   Next