The eglu looks great in my garden but there are a few issues with it. The underneath structure of the tray makes excellent housing for slugs which then make their way into the pod and munch their way through the guinea pig food leaving their slimy trail behind. The rear door is difficult to open if there is any hay in the door frame. The hay rack is now attached with tape so that the water bottle remains accessible. With regard to retrieving objects from the run I have found that a litter picker is very useful and stops the need to find someone small enough to crawl into the run.
Some form of light access to the pod would be useful - for pets and owners alike.
I would like to say first of all despite some teething problems the Omlet team were very helpful and polite. After receiving the run one of my two piggies hurt her foot on the underwire, so I ordered the large 2 x 2 x 1 run which was really ment for chickens. This is amazing and the piggies popcorned around the large space obviously delighted. The 1m run, I feel is too small for 2 but compared to some pet shop hutches its a palace!
The hutch itself is very easy to clean and people friendly. The idea is to keep the door of the hutch open at all times extending the area but as it has a large connecting door and the hutch can become chilly especially at night we lock ours in then. It would be great if, especially for piggies, the door could be made a lot smaller. It is unwise to open the back door if the piggies are inside the hutch as they can quickly escape.
For my Christmas and birthday presents for a few years to come I will ask for the upward extension to the run as although easy to get into, I'm getting older and it would be nice not to have to kneel down to get through the door!
All in all one of the better systems I have seen although it did break the bank!
Easy to assemble, spacious, a doddle to change the bedding. Had to put a small ramp on outside step to help our two geriatric pigs get in and out, but have not had any complaints so far. Weep Weep
Staightforward to construct although one small part was faulty and another missing the company replaced these immediately. Very pleased with the final product, guinea pigs seem contented with plenty of space to dart around, easy access for their young owners (5 and 3 years old), easy to clean and move around the garden daily.
I absolutely love this New Guinea pig cage.But assembling the run was quite difficult.And my guinea pigs clearly love it.
I like the design and the ability to open and close the door but the guinea pigs are ruining the lawn - we have a chequerboard effect where I have been moving it about. It is also difficult to move about and was much more arduous than I expected to put together. I probably had high expectations given the high price and other reviews. It's good, but not great.
Omlet Says: Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you have had problems with assembling your hutch. Should you have any further issues, please do let our Customer Service Team know and we will help as much as we can.
Guinea Pigs will always nibble on the grass when you let them out on the lawn, this is healthy and normal behaviour as they need to constantly eat to keep their bowels moving. You could try offering them more hay and more fresh food if you want to try and keep the lawn eating to a minimum. However they simply love fresh grass and they are surely grateful that you give them the opportunity to do so every day.
We bought the Eglu Go as we wanted a secure run/hutch for our four guinea pig girls to be out in while we're out at work - they have a lovely spacious wooden hutch and a run they'd been using, but the former didn't allow them access to grass and the latter wasn't something we'd be happy to leave them in all day. So far, so brilliant - it was a real pain to put together (bring plenty of patience with you!) but it was worth it. There's plenty of space for the four of them to run around in and the hutch compartment is big enough for them all to snuggle up in. We've not used it overnight, as they have a hutch that's indoors (we live in Cumbria, where the weather is unreliable at the best of times!) but they seem perfectly happy using it. We did have a problem with the supplied water bottle but Omlet replaced it very speedily. The only way we think they could improve it is to offer a few pegs in the inital set-up package to secure the run over uneven ground (we've done this with some tent pegs we bought, but it might be a nicer gesture for them to be included as standard). Easy to clean and fairly easy to move around (although, with the 2m run, it does require two adults to do this - and the run bit sometimes pops out a bit but is easily fixed). All in all, we're really happy and the girls love it: we love the peace of mind it brings us, knowing they can be out enjoying fresh air, fresh grass and exercise safely and securely. It is pricey but it's good value for money as we use it almost every day (weather permitting).
Although my boys love their new home there are a couple of things I would like to see improved. The door is designed for chickens , it is too big for my boys I hang a mat over the front to reduce the door height, this makes them more secure. The food bowl that came with the run is useless for guinea pigs. I would also like to have another door in the side of the run. The base for the run is unnessary for the guinea pigs so we haven't used it. Overall though I love the run, it is so much cleaner than their old cage , they really seem happier.
I'm so very happy with this wonderful product. My piggies are super happy with their new home. The enclosure is easy to clean and keeps them very safe from any predators. The only downfall was the assembly part as it wasn't as easy to put together as indicated on the web page.
I bought an igloo guniea pig hutch for our 3 guniea pigs thinking that it would solve all our problems. I can fault the build of the hutch however I find the access to the pigs really tricky. with the 2m run its impossible to catch them because they just run up the other end and there is no top access so you have to clamber inside. The access from the back, which very convenient for feeding, I find tricky to get at them for worry of them escaping from the opening whilst it is down. I also think it is too small for 3 gunea pigs. Although we clean it out regularly it is alway a horrible, small mess. I'm sorry but I do wish I had taken up the 30 day return offer.
Omlet Says: We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the hutch. The Go should comfortably house up to 3 Guinea Pigs, and by leaving the hutch door open into the run area, you will give them enough space to move around at al times. Otherwise, should you wish to offer them even more space, we have 1m run extensions and also our line of Outdoor Pet Runs.
Reaching the feeder and drinker sometimes can be tricky, however our designers have created the Run Door Self Fit Kit (810.0042) exactly for this purpose.
We hope these tips might make it easier for you to use the Eglu Go Hutch, and thanks again for your feedback!