Reviews for Eglu Go Guinea pig Hutch

5 Stars:
22
4 Stars:
20
3 Stars:
2
2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 44 Reviews
Write Review

Showing reviews 1 to 10 of 44

Too small for 3 guniea pigs and very tricky to access - Emma,

I bought an igloo guniea pig hutch for our 3 guniea pigs thinking that it would solve all our problems. I can fault the build of the hutch however I find the access to the pigs really tricky. with the 2m run its impossible to catch them because they just run up the other end and there is no top access so you have to clamber inside. The access from the back, which very convenient for feeding, I find tricky to get at them for worry of them escaping from the opening whilst it is down. I also think it is too small for 3 gunea pigs. Although we clean it out regularly it is alway a horrible, small mess. I'm sorry but I do wish I had taken up the 30 day return offer.

Omlet Says: We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the hutch. The Go should comfortably house up to 3 Guinea Pigs, and by leaving the hutch door open into the run area, you will give them enough space to move around at al times. Otherwise, should you wish to offer them even more space, we have 1m run extensions and also our line of Outdoor Pet Runs. Reaching the feeder and drinker sometimes can be tricky, however our designers have created the Run Door Self Fit Kit (810.0042) exactly for this purpose. We hope these tips might make it easier for you to use the Eglu Go Hutch, and thanks again for your feedback!


Loving It! My best purchase for 2016. - Amanda,

We have had guinea pigs for 2.5 years and I found it was always an effort to clean them and move around the backyard, as well as the worry of a metal cage being hot in summer and cold in winter. We have been using our Eglu for 2 months now and loving it. The guinea pigs are happier, safer and it is so much easier to clean and lock them up at night. Easy enough to put together the hutch, the cage took a little time with all of the clips. Delivery was so fast. I couldn't fault a single thing. I am extremely happy and it is probably my best purchase for 2016. Money well spent.


A nearly perfect guinea pig product - Francesca,

I bought my GPs an Eglu Go hutch in the summer and I really love it. Much easier to keep clean and I think far nicer than a traditional hutch for my GPs to live in. Just a couple of words of warning though! One of my GPs managed to find herself on the outside of the run as she had squeezed through a hole in the wire as I'd inadvertently placed the run on some uneven ground so she burrowed out! I'm not sure I would rely on Omlets claim that the hutch is ok for all year round use. I have been fretting so much during the recent very cold nights that we have installed a thermometer inside the hutch so I can monitor the temperature inside the hutch. It can drop to freezing or below in there - even having purchased the extra thermal layers that you place inside the outer walls. I now have placed an igloo in the eglu and have a heat pad in there too and a duvet on the outside at night!- this maintains an acceptable temperature. I have been into the website to buy a thermal jacket - the only ones they sell are for chicken eglus but better than nothing- however they are out of stock which seems a little short sighted!


excellent product - Ellen,

Excellent product, very cosy for our piggies and very easy to clean, very well designed and thought out. I did regret not paying for someone to put it together for me as getting the run attached to the hutch was really really difficult and took me ages, the run panels didn't fit easily or well around the top of the Eglu. I managed it in the end with quite a lot of force. When it came I did have parts missing which I was not at all impressed with but they were posted on to me so that should not detract from an overall excellent product when currently there is nothing else like it on the market. Well worth the money. Our piggies happily scamper in when I open the door for them after cleaning out their bedroom, they love it.

Omlet Says: Thank you Ellen for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were missing some parts. I do hope that this has been solved with the ones you received afterwards. We are really happy to help you if you do have problems like this or to help you if you have difficulties while building your Omlet products. Yours, The Omlet team


High quality, but needs "tweaking" - Ebony,

Love the product, but would suggest the following: The clips provided to attach the wire run together were hopeless. We ditched them and used standard UV stablised cable ties unstead which worked really well. A handle or set of handles at the back to lift and drag the cage to a fresh spot of grass. I currently grab and drag (with a bit of difficulty) the wire run part, which I fear will break over time using this method. We attached our own piece of laser lite sheeting to the top and cubby door side of the wire run with cable ties. This was to provide shelter from the wind and also rain when we don't want to lock them inside the cubby part all day. I feel the sunshade provided is inadequate protection from the elements. Other than that, my two Eglus ROCK!!! The kids love them because they look like Space Pods. Also maybe more colour choices, or ways to personalise your cage such as external pictures or guinea pig name plates that attach to the cage. Great product, keep up the good work.


Fantastic hutch - Katie,

Absolutely perfect for my two male guinea pigs. Warm, dry and cosy. Couldn't be better. Thank you.


Excellent - Liza,

I have been using this for 2 male guinea pigs for about 6 weeks now. As with all the other reviews, the run is a little tricky to assemble on your own but as with everybody, I got there in the end, about 3 hours later and a quick call to Omlet. Other reviews mention about the back door catching at times or not slotting in with ease and I think there are potentially 2 reasons for this 1. on uneven ground the bar that the door goes into at the bottom could be slightly elevated if caught on a grass clump or the such like, this causes the door to raise slightly and not slot in smoothly. 2. I sometimes rest the piggies carry case on the top when I bring them indoors, this can cause the top cover to lower slightly, if you then close the door, again it does not slot in smoothly. This is not a problem with the Eglu, more to do with how it is used. It is so easy to clean, although I find using shavings quite messy, I use newspaper. I like the idea of house and run in one. I would not hesitate to have another if the need arose.


Happy bunny n pig! - Rachel,

I have a v.small rabbit n guinea pig, both much happier! Water bottle doesn't stay well attached to hay feeder, hay feeder doesn't stay in place & back hatch sticks! ... But overall much better than conventional hutch! Hoping to keep them out all winter with the insulation


Great product for 3 pigs! - Holly,

I have found the Eglu guinea pig hutch perfect for 3 male guinea pigs who like their own space. Each pig gets a corner inside the Eglu and the 2m run allows us to place a hollowed out log inside for hiding under. Aesthetically it's perfect on green grass and we have made a metal structure to move it as needed.


If I knew how to, I would give this product 4.5 out of 5 - Tamsin,

If I knew how to, I would give this 4.5 out of 5. Our two boys seem very happy in their new home and it is much easier to clean than a wooden hutch. The only reason for the 0.5 mark reduction is that I didn't find it as easy to assemble as I expected - particularly when it came to fitting the cage onto the hutch. The rear door catch also sometimes doesn't want to work properly and although easy to clean, it would be even better if the tray was designed to have a funnel effect with a flat edge so pushing everything into the bin was a little easier. But these are just tiny gripes and overall we are thrilled with our Eglu. My daughter wasn't so sure about the purple, but it looks great in our garden and I'm pleased we didn't go for the green which would have merged in rather than making a bold statement. I had heard great things about Eglus and I'm certainly pleased I took the plunge and got one.

1 of 5   Next