Verified Reviews for Eglu Go Guinea Pig Hutch

2 Stars:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 89 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Great hutch and run - Shirley, Merseyside,

I bought this hutch with the 1 metre run last month. This is so easy to clean and it’s great to keep the two guinea pigs safe in the garden. However, I returned the 1 metre run for the 2 metre run which I think is much better for two guinea pigs. I have peace of mind now when the piggies are out in the garden as the run is really strong and sturdy and they are protected from the cats that wander through our garden. Customer service staff at Omlet were so helpful on my returning the smaller run and on the delivery of the larger run. Thank You so much. Would definitely recommend Omlet products

Verified Purchase: Apr 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 2 guinea pigs pets


Nice and secure but some room for improvement. - Zoe,

We have had this for about a month and the guineas have moved outdoors to their new home now. They are happy and it is lovely to see them outside. The order arrived as planned. Assembly was ok but does require watching the video first to get it right. Took about 2 hours. The hutch is secure and easy to clean and the run is reassuringly secure too. I find that when the door is opened it is too large an opening meaning they don’t have a nice place to hide and seem to feel quite exposed. A smaller opening would be better for them so we have fitted cardboard in the hole with a little opening at the bottom. It would also be great to be able to look in at them without opening the whole of the back wall, although I realise this would complicate the construction. Overall a great product. I hope we have a long term use from this

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Guinea pigs pets


Excellent. - Steve,

We are very happy with our Eglu hutch for our two guinea pigs. They took to it immediately and we haven't looked back. It's easy to clean and just feel much more solid and weather-proof than wooden hutches. The boys love it!

Verified Purchase: Mar 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 pets


Great hutch and run - An Omleteer,

Our little Houdini loves her new house and run; no chance of her escaping now either! It is so much easier to clean out and to feed, change the water and add hay. Lovely and warm even on some of the colder nights recently.

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 1 pets


Well constructed - Kathleen,

Safe and warm environment very happy with it

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Guinea pigs pets


think twice before buying - Nathan,

I bought this a while ago but had to wait until the weather was better for my guinea pigs to move outside once I had allowed them to go outside I noticed numerous flaws 1) the water bottle is horrific and leaks all over the bedding and leaving the bedding drenched 2) the guinea pigs can crawl in the side of the hay feeder and get stuck and after trying to explain these problems to the omlet customer service I got ignored and am still waiting for a resposne

This reviewer has 2-4 Guinea pigs pets

Omlet Says: Hi Nathan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I have looked into the above for you and I can see that one of my colleagues has offered you a replacement water bottle as it sounds like the one you have received is faulty and has also sent an email to our design team asking them to look into your Guinea Pigs getting stuck on the side of the Hay Feeder as this is not something we have heard of before.


- Roxanne,

Great product, easy to put together, easy for the kids to use and clean. Really happy

Verified Purchase: Nov 2020


Guinea Pigs love their new home - Lindsey,

Fabulous cage and great service. The guinea pigs love their new home and it is great to know they are safe from our cat. We had problems with the delivery company but Omlet tapped in and were fantastic! Can’t rate the service, cage and company high enough.

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


Perfect if winter is ok - Suzanne,

We saved up for this hutch as it is very pricey. I am allergic to pretty much all animals but didn't want my girls to grow up without a pet. The vet recommended guinea pigs, unlike bunnies they like to be handled and do not tend to get much wrong with them. This was confirmed by the staff at two zoos and the staff at Chatsworth House. Guinea pigs do not cope with cold/ wet weather so when I came across the Eglu hutch I was delighted for my girls! We could have a furry pet after all! The hutch needs assembling and as an experienced IKEA assembler I did not find it straight forward, think hours rather than minutes. I found the instructions not very clear. The door is rather high for guinea pigs (but probably perfect for rabbits) and I worry this may let in more cold in winter than necessary. Guinea Pigs do not sleep much, 20 minutes a day so I don't think I can close the hutch door as there isn't enough space for them whilst awake. I love how easy it is to clean the hutch. I have invested in a Guineadad cage fleece too so that makes it even easier. Mine do not bother with the hay rack but the included water bottle and bowl are very useful. The run is great and we have put in some pieces of waste pipe which they love. May safe up for some pipe from this company. Not seen any foxes but we have had interested cats who were not able to get at our piggies. We have put artificial grass inside our run. The connector bits from the bottom of the run do not look and feel piggy feet friendly. We brush the mat daily and clean at least weekly, takes minutes.The guinea pigs are not interested in eating the artificial grass. If you are intending to move the hutch from place to place for example on a lawn I would recommend you getting one of the wheely things. We have ours in the same place but we had to move it once and we did not find that straight forward. We bought the pink/ purple colour and it looks really great. It also came with a cover which we leave over the run all day every day as the piggies have the neighbour's pigeons and natural birds of prey and local cats to content with. Having the cover helps them to venture out, they stay in otherwise.I think having something overhead helps them feel safe. The piggies do do some unpleasant things whilst they are on your lab so I would recommend a towel or similar to protect your clothes. We have cheap cooking aprons we wear over our clothes too to avoid bringing in allergens into our home. Whilst we are very happy with the product I will give it 4 stars for now as we have not gone through a Derbyshire winter yet!

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


Absolutely delighted - Gillian,

This is my second eglu 1 metre run for my guinea pigs. I think they are great. I can see the guinea pigs really well and they can see me so they have become confident and very tame coming to the door when I appear.Cleaning out is so easy as is moving the run and no maintenance of cause.Also it looks attractive in the garden rather than a wooden run which deteriorates in the weather after a while and look tatty. the indoor accommodation has plenty of room and is warm and cosy in the winter so enabling the guineas to remain in the eglu all year round

Verified Purchase: Jun 2017

1 of 9   Next