Verified Reviews for Universal Automatic Chicken Coop Door

Average Rating:
Based on 525 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Very effective - Scraps,

I fitted the door onto my wooden coop. I had to make a few adjustments to the coop but it was easy enough to fit and works well. It seems like quite a big door to me but perhaps that's inevitable with the amount of mechanism required to open and close the door. Also I have pekin bantams so maybe the big size would be needed for other breeds. It's the only sideways opening automatic door I could find on the market in the UK. All the others are pulled open from above, which wouldn't have worked with my coop. Having it means I don't have to get up early when the days are long so it's one less stress to deal with. Also means it'll be easier to leave the chooks in someone else's care if we go away.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Pekin bantams pets


Coop auto door - Terry,

It was a little tricky to fit (operator error on my part). The support was great. All in all a worthwhile buy.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Hens pets


Great product, dispatch and communication very sloq - Tyson,

I love the chicken auto door. The kit was so easy to retro fit to my timber chicken tractor. The only draw back is the shipping communication and time frame. It took quite a while and on the confirmation page the dates continually changed without explanation, there was no notification that the item had been shipped. Just a pleasant surprise on the door step one day

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 10+ Isa Brown pets

Omlet Says: Hi Tyson, thanks for your review. I'm very sorry about this! Given the current circumstances we found ourselves trying to communicate delays with our customers based off estimated dispatch dates we were receiving from our suppliers, this is why the dates were changing. We are more than aware how frustrating this can be for our customers so it's something we've worked really hard at trying to improve where possible!


Automated Freedom - Dave,

Chicks complain like mad when they want to get out and Lazy Dave has lowered the grid preventing access to the run (presumably to allow for some maintenance without Truble jumping up and No5 pecking at his toes and Sterling getting under his feet) and forgotten to open it - Just like the Pre Omlet days when Lazy Dave had to get up to allow them out ! Lazy Dave thinks the door is great however could be improved by connecting to the Cloud such that confirmation that the door is Open, Closed or Blockled. Fortunately Lazy Dave has a solution for this and would love to hear from Omlet if they are interested.

This reviewer has 10+ chickens - legbar pets


Automatic door - Donyell,

Shipping fairly normal considering Covid. I was able to put the door together without and issues. The chickens don’t seem to mind it but it is a little small to use for ducks. My ducks are not a fan of it so I will have to figure out what I can do to make it easier for them. I have only used it for couple days so far

Verified Purchase: Nov 2020


I luv this product! - William,

I was sceptical at first to trust my automatic door. I continued my trips each evening to insure door closed. This is a very reliable product. It is easy to install and program. It performs perfectly even in cold weather. The only thing I wish it had is a connection for solar battery charger

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Great auto door, go for it! - Joe,

Love this auto chicken door by Omlet. My chickens are well trained on it and it saves me hassle daily. Keeps my chickens protected. No more having to run out at sundown to make sure all the chickens are in and the door is closed. Operating on a light sensor is fantastic, no need to adjust open and close time as seasons change (although you can choose to do it that way if you wish). Seems GREAT on battery life too. Battery has only dropped by 10% after three months now. I'm using rechargeable alkaline. 4 stars instead of 5 because of an installation oversight: if you test the door before installing it (like to make sure it's working out of the box), the door will likely calibrate incorrectly and not function as expected once you mount it. If you do this, make sure you recalibrate after installing it, which REQUIRES a sequence of unhooking the control module and then resetting the device. If you reset the device while the control module is still hooked up to the door, it will not perform a recalibration. Took me a lot of trial and error to realize this as to why my door would just loop open/close after I installed it. After solving this installation hiccup, the door has been rock solid ever since. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


An excellent purchase. - Nicola,

Really pleased with this. It has particularly helped me stop worrying if i am a little late home and my girls are then safely tucked away. I gave 4 not 5 stars as I am not confident about the light sensor as yet and have resorted to using the timer only and changing it every couple of days as the nights draw in. It is however worth every penny!

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Good Product - Shari,

This automatic coop door is a good product, but took a while for our chickens to get in the coop in time before it shut. The light sensor is pretty sensitive and shut when it was just a bit lighter than our chickens preferred to come in to roost. There is an adjustment, however we had it set for the darkest setting with a delay. Could use a bit more of a range, but they are starting to be more successful so there is hope!

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Thank Goodness For This Product - Nicole,

I love it. I can actually trust it will close and open. Super user friendly Only issues I have: -Maybe provide screws (instead of bolts) for drilling into wood without another side. -Small door/opening for chickens to get through!

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020

1 of 3   Next